Life Update 4 (a.k.a. Things Are Changing)

First of all, I want to apologise for not posting anything for the last few weeks. I’ve had one unfinished post and two ideas sitting in the back of my brain with no set completion date and even if I have the motivation to write, I don’t necessarily have the time.

Second of all, I want to explain why. Over the last nine months, I’ve been trying to leave the job I have and start a career that actually uses the degrees I worked hard to earn.  And now, I’ve been successful…

I recently found out that I’ll be living in Japan for the next year, teaching English to school-children. While I am excited, I think it’s fair to say that immigrating to a different country is a little bit intimidating and comes with a hell of a lot of planning. I’ve also been given extra shifts at my current job so that means I haven’t watched much anime recently (very unlike me, I know).

I don’t have my placement details yet so I can’t go into too much depth here, but I could be leaving anytime between next month and January.

I’ve been thinking about what will happen to this blog, because I’m really not sure how frequently I’ll be able to update with my new schedule. But… I’m going to try my hardest. I’ve had this blog for over a year now, which is the longest I’ve kept up a writing project ever, so I’m not going to quit that easily.

The content will probably change slightly, because I won’t have access to Crunchyroll and my anime will be limited to the DVDs I take with me, but it’ll still be Japan related. If you’ve been following me since before October, you might remember my posts from my study abroad trip (if not, you can find them here). If you’d like to see more of those kinds of blogs, please let me know in the comments.

I have written the majority of my Spring 2017 seasonal round-up so yes, that will be published at some point. Also, I’m currently looking at series from the current season so hopefully I’ll be back on track soon.

8 thoughts on “Life Update 4 (a.k.a. Things Are Changing)

    • Thank you! The process was definitely more difficult than any other job I’ve applied for (it kind of has to be) but not too complicated at the same time. Most programmes allow you to request locations but can’t guarantee that you’ll get them.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks for replying. I think that’s the worry for us. We both want to do it and live together out there. I feel like the chances of us both being placed in the same location or at least within reasonable distance of each other so that we could live together still, are pretty slim. But then again maybe there is some sort of programme in place to accommodate those kinds of situations.

        Like

  1. Grats Shanna 😁. Whatever may happens in your life all the best, and I’ll keep an eye out on your blog. Waiting to see what news you bring 😊

    Like

  2. Best of luck with your new career in Japan. Hope all goes well over there. Make sure you’ll be as ready as you can be before the day of departure.

    I look forward to your first post talking about how you’re doing in your new home or whatever you wish to discuss next. Best of luck!

    Like

Leave a Reply

