[FIRST IMPRESSION] Sakura Quest サクラクエスト

Plot:

After a string of job rejections and only 980¥ in her bank account, Yoshino Koharu is desperate. She receives a call from an old business connection, promising a job in the country. But there’s one big problem… Yoshino doesn’t want to leave Tokyo. Reluctantly, she takes the job and travels to Manoyama to work with the tourism board and promote the town.  However, she has no idea what’s she’s getting herself into. She probably should have read the contract before signing, because what starts off as a short advertising gig ends up with Yoshino becoming Queen of her own independent kingdom.

 

Impression:

I’m going to be completely honest, I’d actually heard about this a few months ago, and it became the series I was most looking forward to this season. It has all the makings of a show I’d like: a pink-haired protagonist (let’s play Spot the Main Character), a female heavy cast, a cute art style, and a workplace driven plot. The first episode starts off slowly and mainly lays the groundwork for the rest of the series, but I have high hopes for the other episodes. I especially enjoyed the twist at the end, which I’m not going to spoil for people who want to watch the episode for themselves. I’ve seen a couple of promotional videos for rural areas in Japan, like this one, and it definitely reminds me of a super exaggerated version of that. The whole concept sounds so interesting and I hope that it follows through. So far, I really relate to Yoshino and I can see her quickly becoming a character I love. I already want to add her to my cosplay collection and it’s only week one. I don’t really have anything negative to say at the moment, so I’m taking that as a good sign.

 

Similar to:

New Game! – Our protagonists start their first job out of school, joining an all-female team.

ReLife – Unemployed protagonists are offered an opportunity to spend a year turning their lives around.


For more Spring 2017 coverage, click here.

 

 

2 thoughts on “[FIRST IMPRESSION] Sakura Quest サクラクエスト

  1. Pingback: [FINAL IMPRESSION] Spring 2017 春 | shannaroshoujo

  2. Pingback: [FIRST IMPRESSION] New Game!! (Season 2) | shannaroshoujo

Leave a Reply

